Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojan (PMJDY)

Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojna is a National level wide scheme launched in 2014 by the Government of India. This scheme givers financial inclusion to everyone ensuring access to financial services like banking, remittance, credit, insurance, pension in an affordable manner. This scheme was launched by the Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi on 28th August 2014.

THe purpose of this scheme was to provide universal and clear access to bank facilities starting with basic banking with overdraft faciltiy of Rs. 5000/- after six months and a RuPay Debit card facility with built in accident insurance of Rs. 1 lakh.


Jan Dhan Yojna Image

Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojan Scheme Includes :

  1. Account holders will be provided bank accounts with no minimum balance
  2. RuPay Debit cards will be issued
  3. Accidental Insurance cover of Rs. 1 lakh.
  4. Overdraft facility upto Rs.5000/- is available in only one account per household, preferably lady of the household.
  5. The scheme provide life cover of Rs. 30,000/- payable on death of the beneficiary, subject to fulfillment of the eligibility condition.
  6. Beneficiaries of Government Schemes will get Direct Benefit Transfer in these accounts.
  7. Easy Transfer of money across India.

Documents required to open an account under Pradhan Mantri Jan-Dhan Yojana

  • If Aadhaar Card/Aadhaar Number is available then no other documents is required. If address has changed, then a self certification of current address is sufficient.
  • If Aadhaar Card is not available, then any one of the following Officially Valid Documents (OVD) is required: Voter ID Card, Driving License, PAN Card, Passport & NREGA Card. If these documents also contain your address, it can serve both as “Proof of Identity and Address”.
  • If a person does not have any of the “officially valid documents” mentioned above, but it is categorized as ‘low risk’ by the banks, then he/she can open a bank account by submitting any one of the following documents:
    • Identity Card with applicant’s photograph issued by Central/State Government Departments, Statutory/Regulatory Authorities, Public Sector Undertakings, Scheduled Commercial Banks and Public Financial Institutions;
    • Letter issued by a gazette officer, with a duly attested photograph of the person.

List of banks offering Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana

There are various public and private sector banks in India that provide the Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana scheme. Listed below are the names of public and private sector banks offering the PMJDY scheme:

Private sector banks offering the PMJDY

  • HDFC Bank Ltd.
  • ICICI Bank Ltd.
  • YES Bank Ltd.
  • Karnataka Bank Ltd.
  • Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd.
  • Axis Bank Ltd.
  • Dhanlaxmi Bank Ltd.
  • Federal Bank Ltd.
  • IndusInd Bank Ltd.
  • ING Vysya Bank Ltd.

Public sector banks offering the PMJDY

  • Andhra Bank
  • Bank of Baroda (BoB)
  • Bank of India (BOI)
  • Allahabad Bank
  • Vijaya Bank
  • Central Bank of India
  • IDBI Bank
  • Syndicate Bank
  • Punjab National Bank (PNB)
  • Union Bank of India
  • Indian Bank
  • Corporation Bank
  • Bank Of Maharashtra
  • Canara Bank
  • Oriental Bank of Commerce
  • Punjab & Sind Bank
  • Bhartiya Mahila Bank
  • Dena Bank
  • State Bank of India (SBI) and all its 5 affiliated banks which include – State Bank of Hyderabad, State Bank of Mysore, State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur, State Bank of Travancore and State Bank of Patiala.

Leave a Comment